|
| Author |
Message |
globallyhosted.net
Joined: 14 Feb 2004
Posts: 16
|
Posted: 2/16/2004, 2:57 pm Post subject: Domain Frustration |
|
|
As you may know by the multiple names ive had, im picking a new company name( thanks for the changes Pat) but now im so mad! I finally found a name I like www.globallyhosted.net and I registered it yesterday got the new site up and everythings good. BUT this morning I get an e-mail saying the name Globallyhosted is a copy righted company and I have tp change it immediatly. and there goes my 30 bucks! Just needed to let out some frustration. If you have any good company names let me know
Jeff |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
marc
Joined: 29 Jan 2004
Posts: 24
|
Posted: 2/16/2004, 5:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Find out who the company is registered to and ask why they haven't bought the domain already.
Add in that you are more than happy to transfer the domain to them as long as they cover all charges you have and will incur. _________________ Marc
Sites - Playground | Skateboarding | Extreme Shopping |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Patrick
Administrator
Joined: 08 Feb 2003
Posts: 1493
Location: Harbinger, NC, U.S.A.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
globallyhosted.net
Joined: 14 Feb 2004
Posts: 16
|
Posted: 2/16/2004, 9:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yes very odd but we have looked at tradmark laws and it seems that they are only covered in contrys where they register so i should be fine and I will probubly tradmark it in my contry I did not ask for documentation but will if he e-mails me once more.
Jeff |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Paul
Joined: 18 Jan 2004
Posts: 137
Location: Worthing, UK
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
globallyhosted.net
Joined: 14 Feb 2004
Posts: 16
|
Posted: 2/16/2004, 10:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I assume thats what this guy is trying to do. He isnt registered where he is from so I dont know where he is registered but if he e-mails me again Ill register it here and really * him off lo.l I can see how this could happen to alot of people.
Jeff |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
marc
Joined: 29 Jan 2004
Posts: 24
|
Posted: 2/17/2004, 11:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
Correct,
It did happen to me, I registered some domains (.com and .co.uk) and within a few weeks I had an email from them stating they own the trademark to it. I ignored the email, then a few more weeks and I recieved a solicitors letter. We argued for a bit, they refused to cover the cost of the domain transfer or reimburse me the cost of the domains (and then they registered a .com version of one of my domains).
In the end, I heard nothing, I guess they gave up. Still own the domains, but they are now up for renewal so I will probably let them expire.
| Paul wrote: |
| Didn't something like this happen to Marc, or am I imaginaing it? I know it happened to someone else I know, and they ignored it - found that the company wasnt really willing to go all through the courts, just hoping to scare him into giving up the domain! |
_________________ Marc
Sites - Playground | Skateboarding | Extreme Shopping |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
globallyhosted.net
Joined: 14 Feb 2004
Posts: 16
|
Posted: 2/17/2004, 1:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well it seems this guy has offered to cover costs so I will move for him i guess. Now I got the name planethosted.com I did a search and theres no business named Planet Hosted so i should be fine. Or atleast I hope.
Thanks
Jeff |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
planethosted.com
Joined: 20 Feb 2004
Posts: 16
|
Posted: 2/20/2004, 6:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well the Guy cheaped out on me and would only send 8 dollars for the domain so i said Ill keep it and not use it as he was still threatening a lawsuit. Im now using this name once and for all and mods can feel free to delet my other names. Sorry for all the confusion, what a bad way to start off at a new board!
Jeff _________________ Thanks
Jeff
jeff@planethosted.com
www.planethosted.com |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Dizmatic
Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 7
|
Posted: 7/22/2005, 6:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Jeff,
I would sit tight on the domain. There is so much hijacking domains and fraud out there, you never know what a person intention really is. I do find it odd that he never registered the domain. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|